Data Loss Prevention

To protect content of important folders from being changed by malicious software, use the Data Loss Prevention feature. With this feature enabled, you can view and add files to a protected folder, however, any modification or removal of files from this folder is blocked. To allow access to a folder for applications, add necessary applications to exclusions. You can also restore previously saved copies.

To open the Data Loss Prevention window

1.Open Dr.Web menu Dr.Web icon, then select Security Center.

2.In the open window, click Devices and Personal Data tile.

3.Make sure Dr.Web operates in administrator mode (the lock at the bottom of the program window is open ). Otherwise, click the lock .

4.Click the Data Loss Prevention tile.

Figure 96. Access to the Data Loss Prevention window

In this section:

Dr.Web operation with previously saved file copies

Manage protected folders

Exclusions

Restore and delete saved copies

Dr.Web operation with previously saved file copies

Protected folders

For each folder, you can configure application access parameters. You can view and copy the protected folder. You can also create new elements in this folder. When an application attempts to access the folder, a notification on access blocking will be displayed.

If you add a folder to the list of protected folders, a default rule is applied to it. Thus, any modification and removal of the folder content is restricted for all applications, except those from the list of trusted applications. To view this list, visit the website https://products.drweb.com/services/data_protection/. The list contains the most popular applications, for example, some Microsoft and Adobe applications. System processes, such as explorer.exe, are not included into the list of trusted applications as they can be used by malicious objects to attack the system.

Note

It is restricted to add system folders to the list of protected ones. This may lead to critical system operation errors.

 

Data Loss Prevention applies only to local files and folders (physically located on your device) within the same operating system on which the protection is configured. If you have several operating systems on the same computer, you should configure Data Loss Prevention separately on each system. Protection of network files and folders is not possible.

Figure 100. Protected folders

In the table, you can see information on:

protected object,

number of exclusions from a general rule, and

protection status.

To activate protection, select the Enable protection check box for the necessary object. If this check box is cleared, the folder is not protected any more. It is displayed with the  icon.

The following management elements are available to work with objects in the table:

The Add button—adding an object to the list of protected objects.

The Edit button—editing elements in the table.

The Delete button—removing an object from the list of protected objects.

To add a folder to the list of protected folders

1.Click the Add button. In the open window, select the necessary object by clicking the Browse button.

2.If necessary, enable or disable access to the folder for trusted applications. This option is enabled by default.

3.You can also specify applications that will have full access to an object regardless the general settings.

Figure 101. Adding a protected folder

Exclusions

The number of applications that have full access to the protected folder is displayed on the main window of Data Loss Prevention in the User exclusions column.

To add an application to the exclusions

1.In the Data Loss Prevention window, click Add to add a new folder to the list of protected.

2.In the open window, click Add. Select an application that will have full access to the objects in the protected folder.

3.Click OK.

To edit the list of exclusions for protected folders

1.Select a folder from the list and click Edit.

2.At the bottom of the open window in the table, you can see all applications that have full access to the selected folder.

To add a new application, click Add.

To delete an application from the list of exclusions, click Delete.

3.Click OK.

Saved copies

The tab is available only if you have copies of files saved in the previous versions of the program. This function allows you to restore and remove saved copies. However, you cannot save new copies.

Figure 102. List of saved copies

Removal of created copies

You may also delete existing copies to free up some disk space (deleting the copies will not affect the original files). To do that, select the necessary copy and click the Delete button.

Restoring files

If any threat has caused corruption of your files, you can restore copies of these files created on a specific date. To do that:

1.Select the necessary copy (the date when the copy was created is displayed in the left column) and click the Restore button.

2.In the open window, specify the path to the folder to which the files will be restored.