Application rules

You can configure access to network resources as well as enable or disable launch of other applications in the New application rule set (or Edit rule set) window.

To access this window:

1.Open the program menu and select Security Center.

2.In the open window, select the Files and Network section.

3.Make sure Dr.Web operates in administrator mode (the lock at the bottom of the program window is open ). Otherwise, click the lock .

4.Click the Firewall tile. A component’s settings window opens.

5.In the Application rules section click Edit. A window with a list of applications opens. For these applications, rules have been set.

Figure 51. Application rules

6.To start creating a new rule set or editing an existing one, click Add or select an application and click Edit. To search for a necessary rule, click Rescan.

When Firewall is operating in training mode, you can start creating a new rule directly from the window with notification on an unknown connection attempt.

Launching other applications

To enable or disable launch of other applications, from the Launching network applications drop-down list select one of the following:

Allow—if you want to enable the application to run other processes.

Block—if you want to disable the application to run other processes.

Not specified—if you want to use the settings specified for the selected operation mode of Firewall.

Access to network resources

1.Specify one of the following modes to access network resources:

Allow all—all connections are allowed.

Block all—all connections are blocked.

Not specified—if you want to use the settings specified for the selected operation mode of Firewall.

User-defined—enables you to create a set of rules that allow or block different connections.

2.When you select the User-defined mode, a table with details on the application rule set displays below. Details

3.If necessary, edit the predefined rule set or create a new one.

5.When you finish adjusting the settings, click OK to save changes or Cancel to cancel them. When shifting to another mode, all changes made in the rule set will be kept.

Enable the Require confirmation on object change (recommended) option if you want the access to network resources to be confirmed each time when the application is changed or updated.